EZ Bidet: Install a Kitchen Sprayer in your Toilet

In April 2008, my sister and I visited Thailand and Cambodia for three weeks.  One of the best things we experienced there were the kitchen sink sprayers attached to every toilet.  Cleaning poo off of you with water makes a lot more sense than smearing it around with paper.  We wanted to institute it at home when we got back, but it didn’t happen … until now, almost two years later!

Last night, I remembered our dream of having a clean, refreshed anus.  I looked on Instructables.com and found out that someone had done it and had posted the step-by-step instructions.  Today, I did it.  I made our dream come true.

I went to Lowe’s and spent about 40 minutes trying to find the right pieces.  I explained it to the guy working in Plumbing and he told me he didn’t have the right parts, and that I’d have to go to a Plumbing Supply Store, which are all closed on Sundays.  I wanted to make it work so I kept looking and figured out a solution.

T-Junction: 3/8″ on top and bottom, and 1/4″ compression fitting on the side (with compression sleeve)

Elbow Joint: 1/4″ compression fitting on the side, and 1/4″ NIP thread on the top which connects to the kitchen sink sprayer

The problem was that there wasn’t an adapter piece that went from 1/4″ compression fitting to 1/4″ NIP thread, so I used a small piece of 1/4″ plastic tubing.

Here it is assembled.  I put teflon tape around the 1/4″ NIP thread that attached to the sprayer.

I turned off the water line to the toilet, and then added the T-Junction in there.  The problem was that the plastic tubing was flexible was that when you moved the sprayer around, the tubing would flex.  I figured that after a while, the plastic tubing would break from the stress, and then there’d be water all over the place.

So I turned the T-Junction to be more in line with the water pipe, and then secured the hose to the pipe with electrical tape, so that now the stress is put on the hose — not on the plastic tubing — whenever the sprayer is used.

The water pressure is divine!  Clean buttholes for all!

7 thoughts on “EZ Bidet: Install a Kitchen Sprayer in your Toilet

  1. I done almost the same thing. I used a short piece of 1/4 copper tubing instead of the plastic . I have visited Thailand three times this year.

  2. I love your enthusiam, determination, and if someone comes in when I’m dropping a load, I can spray ’em. No more military juntas!

  3. Simply awesome. I too miss the handheld bidet that I became used to in Vietnam. Need to install one on my toilet asap.

  4. Please do not do this, or if you do, you MUST add a shut-off valve. A kitchen sprayer is NOT designed to withstand full line pressure. They are designed to be used with a kitchen faucet WITH A DIVERTER VALVE. If you install one, and do not use a valve to shut off the pressure to the sprayer when not in use, you have a ticking time bomb. It may work for a while, even years, but it will eventually fail and flood you bathroom. It will not stop until you turn off the water supply.

Leave a comment