Chiquinquira to Ubate (Colombia)

At this point, I was really close to Bogota, and I had time to spare before Jessica’s arrival.

It was probably my favorite ride in Colombia. The countryside was inspiring, and I could take my time.

There were a bunch of roadside stops advertising fresa y crema — strawberries and cream. I stopped for a treat a few times. Apparently, I was in the dairy capital of the country.

I stopped in Ubate for lunch and found an excellent comedor. The soup and food were fine, but what really sent it over the edge was the drink. The lady poured me fresh mango juice. Thick mango nectar! I tried to pace myself with the drink, so that I’d have some by the end of my meal, but I had bad self-control. When the lady saw I was low on my mango, she refilled my glass, and left the jug on my table. I was in heaven. Unlimited refills of pure mango juice! I finished the jug.

It was still early when I left the comedor. I planned to make it a little further towards Bogota before I stopped for the day. As I walked my bike out to the road, some guys in the neighboring bar flagged me down and waved beer bottles at me. They urged me to sit with them, and they bought me beer. They spoke really fast, and their accent was difficult to understand, but I made out a few things. What they were most concerned about was what I thought about Chavez and Venezuela. Easy question to answer: Chavez esta loco hombres.

After three beers, I told them I didn’t want any more, as I was trying to be polite. One of them said something about a person who drinks beers but doesn’t pay for it. I didn’t really understand, but I felt that they might have been talking about me. When I left, I gave my muchas gracias’s and left some money on the table. However, they didn’t want it and insisted I take it back.

I decided to stay in Ubate for the night. Bogota was just a day away. I found a hotel with a TV for $5. When I turned on the TV as I was spread out on the bed in my cycling gear, Indiana Jones and The Last Crusade came on. I watched the whole thing and didn’t move. After washing up and hanging my shorts out to dry, The First Knight started. I lay there, zoned out. What a treat!

Leave a comment